Sync your account settings

You can save and sync things like your history, bookmarks, and passwords to your Google Account. That way you'll always have them on any Chromebook and in Google Chrome on other devices where you're signed in. 


Syncing works with Chrome OS version 18 and later, and is on by default when you sign in to your Chromebook.


Sign in and turn on sync

To turn on sync, you'll need a Google Account.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click Profile Profile.
  3. Sign in to your Google Account.
  4. If you want to sync your info across all your devices, click Turn on sync and thenTurn on.

If you want to sync more than one account or you share your computer with others, learn how to add a profile in Chrome.


Turn off sync

If you turn off sync, you can still see your bookmarks, history, passwords and other settings on your computer. If you make any changes, they won't be saved to your Google Account and synced to your other devices.

When you turn off sync, you’ll also be signed out of other Google services, like Gmail.

  1. On your computer, open Chrome.
  2. At the top right, click More More and then Settings.
  3. At the top, under 'People', click Turn off and then Turn off.
 


Choose what information to sync - Chromebook/Chromebox

  1. At the bottom right, select the time.
  2. Select Settings Settings.
  3. In the "People" section, select Sync.
  4. Choose what you'd like to sync. To use all the same settings on every Chromebook you sign in to, turn on Sync everything.
  5. Optional: Under "Encryption options," you can encrypt your synced data with a passphrase. This doesn't include payment methods and addresses from Google Pay. Learn how to create a sync passphrase.

Note: If you're using a Chromebook at work or at school, your administrator might choose to turn off sync. If so, you won't be able to sync your information.

Delete synced information from your account - Chromebook/Chromebox

You can delete your synced information from your Google Account at any time:

  1. At the bottom right, select the time.
  2. Select Settings Settings.
  3. In the "People" section, select Sync.
  4. Select Manage synced data on Google Dashboard.
  5. At the bottom, select Reset sync.

All the information that has been synced will be deleted from your Google Account. All of your bookmarks, apps, and extensions will stay on your Chromebook, but won't show up on other Chromebooks you use.